I’m not sure about how new this news is but I just recently found out that Globe now has a data rate to match that of Smart.

For the longest time, Globe had been charging PHP0.15 per KB while their larger competitor, Smart, charged PHP10.00 per 30 minutes. Globe’s rate was fine for doing simple WAP browsing but it was obviously too much for hardcore surfing and even more painful when using your mobile as a modem for your laptop. With my E61i on 3G, I always had to watch how many kilobytes had already been transfered because I didn’t want to spend too much. With Globe’s new rate of PHP5.00 per 15 minutes, I don’t have to worry about overspending for data anymore.

To avail of this new service, text “Time” to 1111. If you want to revert to the old per-KB service, you still can by texting “KB” to 1111. And if you want to know which service you’re currently subscribed to, text “Status” to 1111. Don’t worry, you won’t be charged for this.

For more details, head on over to the myGlobe page HERE.

P.S. No, I wasn’t paid by Globe.

